Easy pancakes

When I was young, my dad used to make pancakes every Saturday morning for my sisters and me. He’d make them in the shape of our initials and would sometimes color them pink. When I started to make my own breakfast, I asked him to write down his recipe, and while I changed his “milk ’til it looks right” to an actual measurement and made the recipe allergen-free, it comes pretty close to my Saturday-morning favorites. Just not pink.

Ingredients

1 cup + 1-2 Tbsp. gluten-free flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1 Tbsp. sugar
1 Tbsp. vegetable oil
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 cup milk substitute
1 tsp. vanilla
*1/4 – 1/2 cup optional fruit

1. Mix dry ingredients together in a medium bowl, using only 1 cup flour.
2. Mix wet ingredients in a small bowl.
3. Combine wet and dry ingredients with a whisk, thickening as needed using the extra 1-2 Tbsp. flour.
4. For optional fruit, I like to place the pieces of fruit into the pancakes by hand when they first go into the pan. Fruit can also be stirred into the bowl of batter, if desired, but it tends to sink to the bottom.
5. Cook over low heat, turning when bubbles appear.
6. Enjoy with syrup, jam, or whatever topping you desire.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Easy pancakes

  1. Ashley Paolozzi December 4, 2013 at 12:25 am Reply

    Great recipe! I love putting jam on pretty much anything. I’ll be sure to try your dad’s recipe next time I make pancakes (which just might be soon)!

    • Sande Fowler December 4, 2013 at 12:36 am Reply

      Great! Let me know how they turn out.

  2. […] Breakfast – blueberry pancakes and bacon Supper – turnip green soup and […]

Leave a Reply

