Slow-Cooker Red Beans and Rice

I found a page from an old Southern Living under some stuff in my garage, and it featured the following recipe. What the heck, I thought. I had everything on hand (more or less), so I cooked it. The original recipe can be found here. It calls for turkey sausage, but most turkey sausage tastes like hot dogs, which are unpalatable to me, so I used pork instead.

Makes 10 cups
Prep: 15 minutes
Cook: 7 hours

Ingredients:

1 lb. dried red beans
3/4 lb. smoked sausage, thinly sliced
3 celery ribs, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 sweet onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 Tbsp. Creole seasoning (I use Tony Cachere’s Original Creole Seasoning)
Hot cooked long-grain rice
Hot sauce to taste
Finely chopped green or red onion (optional garnish)

Directions:

1. Combine first 8 ingredients and 7 cups water in a 4-quart slow cooker.
2. Cover and cook on HIGH for 7 hours or until beans are tender.
3. Serve red-bean mixture with hot cooked rice and optional hot sauce and/or garnish.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment